Greta Van Fleet – From The Fires

From the Fires is the second EP by American rock band Greta Van Fleet. It is a double EP consisting of eight songs; four from their debut EP, Black Smoke Rising, and four new tracks. It was released on November 10, 2017 through Republic Records.

Go to Amazon

Category: Tag:


Greta Van Fleet From the Fires was first announced on October 25, 2017, to be released on November 10, 2017. The release is a double EP, consisting of eight songs; four being newly recorded by the band, four songs originally found from their prior EP, Black Smoke Rising.

Having chosen songs for Black Smoke Rising that would demonstrate their range and variety, the band felt that it was “simply just not finished.” As a result, they compiled four more songs that they felt tied up loose ends for From the Fires. Too busy to design the cover art like they did for Black Smoke Rising, they hired an artist for From the Fires and made suggestions.

The album was released physically and digitally, the latter being available for a discount on iTunes if the account has already purchased Black Smoke Rising. The song “Highway Tune” topped the Billboard Mainstream Rock and Active Rock charts in 2017, while “Safari Song” had peaked at number 1 on the same chart in February 2018.

The EP contains two covers; a cover of Sam Cooke’s 1964 song “A Change Is Gonna Come”, and Fairport Convention’s 1968 song “Meet on the Ledge”. The former was to show the band’s soul influences and the latter to have a folk song. Josh and guitarist Jake had always wanted to cover “A Change Is Gonna Come”, and felt that its political importance was relevant to today and therefore time to finally do it. Herschel Boone and his wife recorded multiple chorus parts to give it the effect of a choir. From the Fires’ two original songs, “Edge of Darkness” and “Talk on the Street,” were written about nine months before its release. Jake briefly referred to the former as “pure rock and roll” and the latter as having a “catchy fun” element to it.

1. “Safari Song”
2. “Edge of Darkness”
3. “Flower Power”
4. “A Change Is Gonna Come” (written by Sam Cooke)
5. “Highway Tune”
6. “Meet on the Ledge” (written by Richard John Thompson)
7. “Talk on the Street”
8. “Black Smoke Rising”